Board Of Directors

A Word From
Our Board

"When Nick Scoppetta became Commissioner of the Administration for Children’s Services (ACS) in 1996, he had a dream. He had grown up in foster care and knew how critical a good education and the caring adults who encouraged him were to his survival. He knew government could not do it all - so he envisioned engaging New Yorkers to fill in the gaps, and New Yorkers For Children (NYFC) was born. It has been my great honor to become a New Yorker For Children working alongside my fellow board members and the dedicated NYFC staff to realize Nick’s dream."

Susan L. Burden, Founding Board Member

pic (1)

Our Board


Susan L. Burden

Vice President

Laura McVey


Louis Klein


Susan Gilroy

Executive Director

Saroya Friedman-Gonzalez

Founder and President Emeritus

Nicholas Scoppetta d. 2016


Geoffrey Canada

Oscar de la Renta d. 2014

Daniel Kronenfeld d. 2019

Dayssi Olarte de Kanavos

Anna Wintour

Advisory Board

Beth Rudin DeWoody

Jack O’Kelley, III

Board members

John Alderman

Eric Brettschneider*

Kathryn Conroy

Roland Estevez

Lise B. Evans

Salvatore Gogliormella

Board members

Ira M. Golub

David Hansell*

Abigail James

Nancy Jarecki

Amy Larocca

Kevin Liles

Board members

Denise Maybank

Jennifer Mieres

Elizabeth Myers

Rona Nelson

Patti Ongman

Andrea Scoppetta

Executive director

*Former Board President

To Our Newsletter

Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Frame (18)